In 1999, a group of visionary local leaders took action to preserve fish and wildlife habitat, forests, grasslands and agricultural land in the Blue Mountain region. They were concerned about residential development sprawl, commercial encroachment and natural resource degradation. To meet these threats, they created the Blue Mountain Land Trust.

Our mission is to protect the scenic, natural, and working lands that characterize the Blue Mountains region through collaboration with communities and landowners.

We provide conservation services to landowners across ten counties: Walla Walla, Columbia, Garfield and Asotin counties in Washington, and Grant, Wheeler, Gilliam, Morrow, Umatilla and Union counties in Oregon.

Since its founding, the land trust has acquired 14 conservation easements totaling almost 6,500 acres.


Cover photo by Bill Rodgers